

# 126<sup>th</sup> - 131<sup>st</sup> Annual General Meeting Of Durban Chess Club 2024 - 2025 Agenda

**Date** : 10<sup>th</sup>/17<sup>th</sup> October 2024

**Time** : 7.00 pm

Venue: St Cyprian's Church Hall, Umbilo Road

1. Attendance

- 2. Minutes of previous general meeting
- 3. Matters arising from the minutes
- 4. Reports of committee members:

President Treasurer

Captain of Play

- 5. Prize giving
- 6. Election of Committee members
- 7. Membership fees
- 8. Calendar 2025
- 9. General
- 10. Closure

# <u>Minutes</u> 126<sup>th</sup> - 131<sup>st</sup> Annual General Meeting Of Durban Chess Club 2024 - 2025

#### 1. Attendance

The annual general meeting was scheduled on the  $10^{\text{th}}$  of October but it was unfortunately postponed due to insufficient members being present. A minimum quorum is 15 members and there were only 13 members present.

The postponed meeting occurred on the 17<sup>th</sup> of October and no quorum was required. There were 8 members present. See attached registers.

# **Apologies**

Jerry Zuma, Hemant Nowbath, Jason Subke, Bongani Mgaga and Aresti Paraskevopoulos.

The meeting was chaired by John Khan (vice president)

# 2. Minutes of previous special general meeting

No objections were voiced. The previous minutes were agreed upon.

#### 3. Matters arising from the minutes

All objectives stated were satisfied.

- Elect new committee
- Get control of bank account
- Get the club operating

# 4. Reports of committee members

#### **President**

Jerry Zuma gave his apologies for his absence at the AGM. The meeting was chaired by John Khan(vice – president). John expressed his joy at the club's opening after a long closure due to COVID. There was also a huge demand for the clubs reopening. He was glad the clubs revival would continue the chess heritage in Durban by developing youth and older players. John acknowledged Keith Rust as being instrumental in the clubs revival and expressed gratitude.

#### **Treasurer**

Keith Rust stated Father Dane showed goodwill although the club was in arrears just before COVID (R2750-00). This amount was settled once the old bank account was unfrozen. He gave thanks to Hemant Nowbath and Bongani Mgaga for their donations in the running of the club while the club's banking accounts were being ratified. Keith stated that the clubs financial status is stable. Cash resources are currently about R100 000.

The club has to also invest in equipment (digital clocks). Prize money for 2024 was agreed: section A – R1000, B – R500. He expressed dismay in non-payment of championship entry fees by members this year.

#### **Captain of Play**

Revive swiss was free entry, results posted on DCC site. Club Championship section A and B ran smoothly. The Second swiss was rather disappointing with attendance. Another concern voiced by Keith was the number of defaults. At most 25 boards during championship, but declined to 15 boards by Second swiss.

### 5. Prize giving

The prize giving was done on the 10<sup>th</sup> of October.

Club Championship winners

Section A - Jason Subke and Aresti Paraskevapoulos

Section B - 1st Kudzaishe Manyanya

2<sup>nd</sup> Sphelele Makhanya

#### **6. Election of Committee members**

Keith nominated Jerry for president. He contacted Jerry via cellphone and he accepted nomination. The members present unanimously seconded the proposal. There were no other candidates.

Cyril Danisa nominated John Khan for vice-president. He accepted nomination. Ahdir Puran seconded the nomination. There were no other candidates.

Keith Rust nominated Ahdir Puran for secretary. He accepted nomination. Cyril Danisa seconded the nomination. There were no other candidates.

John Khan nominated Keith Rust for treasurer. He accepted nomination. Ahdir Puran seconded the nomination. There were no other candidates.

Cyril Danisa nominated Keith Rust for Captain of play. He accepted nomination. Sphelele Makhanya seconded the nomination. There were no other candidates.

John Khan nominated Senzo Msimango for  $\mathbf{1}^{\text{st}}$  committee member. He accepted nomination. Khulekani Danisa seconded the nomination. There were no other candidates.

Keith Rust nominated Cyril Danisa for 2<sup>nd</sup> committee member. He accepted nomination. Senzo Msimango seconded the nomination. There were no other candidates.

#### **Summary of Committee members for 2025**

Positions	Names
President	Mbusiswa Zuma (Jerry)
Vice-president	John Khan
Secretary	Ahdir Puran
Treasurer	Keith Rust
Captain of play	Keith Rust
1 <sup>st</sup> committee	Senzo Msimango
2 <sup>nd</sup> committee	Cyril Danisa

#### 7. Membership fees

Keith stated that membership needed to increase. It was discussed by the members and membership fees for 2025 were set at R400. The fees need to be paid before the end of the  $1^{\text{st}}$  Swiss.

#### 8. Calendar 2025

See attached document.

#### 9. General

Cyril suggested that club hosts big tournaments. He also mentioned needing sponsors to raise funds.

John Khan asked about rating fees. Keith responded by saying there has not been Chess SA rating fees for a long time. There is an issue between Chess SA and FIDE. Keith recommended that the championship A section be FIDE rated and a Round robin would be cheaper to host.

# 10. Closure

John Khan closes meeting at 20:50